Patriots Point Development Authority Welcomes Two New Members to the Board of Directors

MOUNT PLEASANT, S.C. –South Carolina Governor Henry McMaster has approved the
recommendations of Jay Lucas, Speaker of the House of Representatives and Brian White, Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee to appoint George “Pat” Waters to the Patriots Point Development Authority’s (PPDA) Board of Directors. Waters joins the recently-elected Mayor of Mount Pleasant Will Haynie as the two newest members of the Board.

Pat Waters served in the U.S. Navy Reserves as officer aboard the USS Braine and an antisubmarine warfare instructor at the Naval Air Station in Glynco, GA. He is a board member emeritus of the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation, and commissioner emeritus of the Charleston County Aviation Authority. Waters also serves as board chairman for Mount Pleasant Roper Hospital.

“I have a deep love for the Navy and hope to be an asset to the board here at Patriots Point,” said Waters. “I’m looking forward to the opportunity to help the agency continue to grow, and supporting the National Medal of Honor Museum project.”

“I am excited to have Pat Waters officially on our Board,” said PPDA Board Chairman Ray Chandler. “He has served our agency from a distance in a volunteer capacity for a long time, and has shown untiring support for our museum and the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation.”

Mount Pleasant Mayor Will Haynie is a 1983 graduate of The Citadel and has served as chief executive officer for several non-profits, including the Lowcountry Open Land Trust and the South Carolina Maritime Foundation. Haynie is a former congressional press secretary and op-ed newspaper columnist.

“I have had the pleasure of serving with two former Mayors of Mount Pleasant who are people of the highest caliber that bring a tremendous amount to the table in building a relationship between our museum and the wonderful town of Mount Pleasant,” said Chandler. “We welcome the opportunity for this new mayor to join us in carrying on that great tradition.”

The PPDA board consists of nine members who are appointed to serve a term of four years. Selection of three members of the board, including its chairman, is at the discretion of the governor. In addition, five members are appointed by the governor upon the recommendation of a combination of the Speaker of the House, Senate Pro Tem, Senate Finance Chairman, Chairman of the House Ways and Means Committee, and the adjutant general. The mayor of the Town of Mount Pleasant serves as an ex-officio

Below is a list of current PPDA Board members.
• Mr. Ray E. Chandler, Chairman
• Mr. Wayne Adams, Vice Chairman
• Mrs. Susan Marlowe
• Mr. Spencer King
• Mr. Edwin Taylor
• Mr. Zeb Williams
• Mayor Will Haynie
• Mr. Richard Wilkerson
• Mr. George “Pat” Waters

About Patriots Point
Patriots Point, on the Charleston Harbor in Mount Pleasant, S.C., is home of Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum and a fleet of National Historic Landmark ships, and the only Vietnam Support Base Camp in the U.S. Patriots Point is also headquarters to the Congressional Medal of Honor Society and the agency’s official Medal of Honor Museum. Visit for more details, or find us at @patriots_point on Twitter and Instagram, and Facebook at

About the USS Yorktown Foundation
Established in 2013, the Yorktown Foundation was formed as a 501(c)(3) with the purpose of raising funds for renovating exhibits and maintaining the ships at Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum. The Yorktown Foundation’s mission is to cultivate a unique learning environment that connects generations by celebrating America’s history and its heroes, inspiring freedom, patriotism, leadership and service.
For more information, visit