Santee Cooper CU’s Champion re-elected to Carolinas CU League Board

Melynda Champion

Santee Cooper Credit Union CEO Melynda Champion was re-elected to the Carolinas Credit Union League (CCUL) Board of Directors according to balloting results last month at the CCUL 2022 Annual Meeting in Myrtle Beach. Also elected were Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union President/CEO Tim Carlisle (Myrtle Beach, SC), SPC Credit Union VP of Lending LaTasha Cooper (Hartsville, SC), and Shuford Federal Credit Union President/CEO Jerry Gaillard (Hickory, NC). Board officers were determined in the reorganization meeting that followed.

Champion has served as president/CEO for Santee Cooper CU since 1997. She began her career in the credit union movement at SC Telco FCU in 1991 then became marketing director at Carolina Trust FCU from 1993-1997. She also served on the South Carolina Credit Union League from 1994-2014.

Champion is a member of the Management Association of Carolinas Credit Unions (MACCU) and was a member of the South Carolina Credit Union Management Association (SCCUMA) from 1994-2014. She has completed the Credit Union National Association’s (CUNA) Marketing and Business Development School, I & II.

Read more including full election results at

SCBIZtv is part of the SC Biz News family, serving 100,000 high-level business execs throughout South Carolina. Click for more from SCBIZtv.